Charles B. Koester Student Essay Competition

James R. Mallory Research Grant

Doctoral Fellowship

Bursaries

The James R. Mallory Research Grant for the Study of Parliament (2021)

The Canadian Study of Parliament Group (CSPG) – a non-profit, non-partisan organization that brings together parliamentary experts, academics, and public servants with an interest in the role, function, and reform of parliamentary institutions – is pleased to announce the 2021 competition for the James R. Mallory Research Grant for the Study of Parliament.

The Mallory Grant seeks to support ongoing scholarly interest in the parliamentary system of government. Its purpose is to sponsor original research about Parliament, broadly understood, including projects that depart from or challenge traditional topics and methodologies of parliamentary study in Canada.

We encourage analysts from parliamentary institutions, academics, journalists, and other research professionals to submit a research proposal. CSPG believes in the inclusion of diverse voices, including those of individuals who are Indigenous, Black, people of colour, women, LGBTQ2+ and persons with disabilities, and encourages applicants with these identities or who are members of other equity-seeking communities to apply. Special consideration will be given to early career scholars and researchers.

The grant will allow the recipient to fund research activities, such as hiring research assistant(s), collecting and processing data, travelling for research purposes (including data collection and research dissemination) and publishing results.

The application will be assessed based on the following criteria:

  • the quality and feasibility of the research proposal
  • the relevance of the proposal to the study of parliamentary institutions and debates surrounding them
  • the necessity and appropriateness of the proposed budget
  • the applicant’s demonstrated interest in the parliamentary system as indicated by previous publications and research or other relevant activity
  • the relevance of the project(s) envisaged as part of the research.

The CSPG expects the grant recipient to produce at least one scholarly project. The method of dissemination is at the recipient’s discretion (peer-reviewed article, monograph, book chapter, teaching module, etc.) and should be described in the proposal. In addition, the recipient will be required to provide a document describing the main results of their research, which will be published on the CSPG website. This research summary will be translated into the other official language prior to publication.

Proposals must be submitted electronically to CSPG-GCEP@parl.gc.ca in Word or PDF (1-inch margins, 12-point font, double-spaced, 3 pages, including a 1-page proposed budget) and accompanied by the candidate’s curriculum vitae. Proposals in either English or French are welcome.

The competition for the grant is open to Canadian citizens and permanent residents who are not enrolled at a post-secondary institution.

Applications will be received and evaluated over two rounds.
First round deadline: September 1
Second round deadline: November 30
Applicants who submit for the first round, but are unsuccessful, are welcome to submit a revised application for the second round.

Research Grant
Up to $5,000

Research period

  • One year; an extension may be granted under certain conditions

Terms

  • Submit a research proposal and current curriculum vitae
  • Submit a research summary for publication on the CSPG website describing the activities carried out and research dissemination resulting from the project no later than one year after receiving the initial funding
  • Submit a progress report if an extension is requested
  • Credit the Mallory Grant when publishing research results.

The grant is named in honour of James R. Mallory. The late Professor Mallory was a member of the Department of Political Science at McGill University as well as a founder, former president and long-time member of the Canadian Study of Parliament Group. He was a leading scholar of parliamentary government and wrote many sound and widely read analyses of the institution and issues related to it. His text, The Structure of Canadian Government, is still consulted by students of Canadian government.

James R. Mallory Research Grant

The CSPG James R. Mallory Research Grant is dedicated to the late Professor Mallory who was a member of the Department of Political Science at McGill University as well as a founder, former president and long-time member of the Canadian Study of Parliament Group. He was a leading scholar of parliamentary government, and wrote many sound and widely read analyses of the institution and issues related to it. His text, The Structure of Canadian Government, is still consulted by students of Canadian government today.

© 2015 Canadian Study of Parliament Group

Concours d’essai Charles B. Koester

Subvention de recherche James R. Mallory

Bourse de doctorat

Bourses

Subvention de recherche James R. Mallory pour l’étude des parlements (2021)

Le Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements (GCEP) – un organisme non partisan sans but lucratif regroupant des spécialistes des parlements, des universitaires et des fonctionnaires qui s’intéressent au rôle, aux fonctions et aux réformes des institutions parlementaires – est heureux d’annoncer le lancement du concours 2021 pour l’obtention de la Subvention de recherche James R. Mallory pour l’étude des parlements.

La Subvention Mallory a pour objet de soutenir l’intérêt pour l’étude des systèmes parlementaires. Son but est de financer des recherches originales sur les institutions parlementaires en général, notamment des projets qui s’écartent des sujets et des méthodologies habituels de l’étude des parlements au Canada ou qui les remettent en question.

Nous encourageons les analystes des institutions parlementaires, universitaires, journalistes et autres spécialistes de recherche à soumettre une proposition de recherche. Le GCEP croit à l’inclusion des voix différentes, notamment celles des Autochtones, des Noirs, des personnes de couleur, des femmes, des personnes handicapées et des membres de la communauté LGBTQ2+, et il invite les membres de ces groupes ou d’une autre communauté aspirant à l’équité à poser leur candidature. Une attention particulière sera accordée aux universitaires et chercheurs en début de carrière.

La subvention permettra de financer des activités de recherche, telles que l’embauche d’auxiliaire(s) de recherche, la collecte et le traitement de données, les déplacements pour fins de recherche (incluant la collecte de données et la diffusion des travaux) ainsi que la publication des résultats.

La demande sera évaluée en fonction des critères suivants :

  • la qualité et la faisabilité du projet de recherche,
  • la pertinence du projet de recherche à l’égard des institutions parlementaires et des débats qui s’y rapportent,
  • la nécessité et la pertinence du budget proposé,
  • l’intérêt que porte le candidat ou la candidate au régime parlementaire, comme en font foi ses publications et recherches antérieures ou toute autre activité pertinente,
  • la pertinence des projets envisagés dans le cadre de la recherche.

Le GCEP s’attend à ce que le ou la récipiendaire de la subvention produise au moins un projet savant. Le mode de diffusion est laissé à la discrétion du ou de la récipiendaire (article évalué par les pairs, monographie, chapitre de livre, module d’enseignement, etc.), mais il doit être indiqué dans la proposition. Par ailleurs, le ou la récipiendaire devra aussi fournir un document décrivant les principaux résultats de sa recherche, qui sera publié sur le site Web du GCEP. Ce résumé sera traduit dans l’autre langue officielle avant publication.

Le projet de recherche doit être envoyé par courriel à CSPG-GCEP@parl.gc.ca en format Word ou PDF (marges d’un pouce, police 12 points, double interligne, 3 pages, incluant un projet de budget d’une page), accompagné du curriculum vitæ du candidat ou de la candidate. Le projet peut être présenté en français ou en anglais.

Le concours est ouvert aux citoyens et citoyennes canadiens et aux résidents et résidentes permanents qui ne sont pas inscrits dans une institution postsecondaire.

L’acceptation et l’évaluation des demandes se feront en deux tours :
Date limite pour le premier tour : 1er septembre
Date limite pour le deuxième tour : 30 novembre
Les personnes qui ont présenté leur demande au premier tour, mais qui n’ont pas été retenues, sont invitées à soumettre une demande révisée au deuxième tour.

Subvention de recherche
Jusqu’à 5 000 $

Période de recherche

  • D’une durée d’un an. Un prolongement pourra être accordé sous certaines conditions.

Conditions

  • Présenter un projet de recherche et un curriculum vitæ à jour.
  • Présenter un résumé pour la publication sur le site Web du GCEP décrivant les activités menées et la diffusion de la recherche résultant du projet, au plus tard un an après avoir reçu le premier versement.
  • Présenter un rapport d’étape, si un prolongement est demandé.
  • Souligner la contribution financière de la bourse Mallory lors de la diffusion des résultats de la recherche.

La subvention de recherche doit son nom au regretté James R. Mallory, professeur au Département de sciences politiques de l’Université McGill et fondateur, ex président et membre de longue date du Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements. Beaucoup de personnes ont lu les nombreuses analyses érudites que cet éminent spécialiste du régime parlementaire a réalisées sur l’institution et les questions qui s’y rattachent. Son ouvrage The Structure of Canadian Gouvernement demeure populaire auprès de ceux qui étudient le gouvernement du Canada.

Subvention de recherche James R. Mallory

La subvention de recherche James R. Mallory du GCEP a été créée en souvenir et en l'honneur du regretté Pr Mallory, qui appartenait au Département de science politique de l’Université McGill et qui est un des fondateurs du Groupe canadien d'étude des parlements, en a été président et en a longtemps fait partie. Spécialiste du gouvernement parlementaire, il a fait des analyses nombreuses, judicieuses et largement diffusées sur l’institution et ce qui avait un rapport avec elle. Son texte intitulé The Structure of Canadian Government demeure une lecture incontournable pour quelconque étudie le gouvernement canadien.

© 2015 Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements