Current Events

Past Conferences

Past Seminars

Speaking Tours

Post-Secondary Speaking Tours

In 1988, the Canadian Association of Clerks-at-the-Table and the Canadian Study of Parliament Group first joined forces to engage the clerks of federal, provincial and territorial legislative institutions to reach out to students at Canadian universities and colleges to speak with them about the role of the legislative branch in the Westminster system of government. Since then, many engagements across the country have led to interesting and productive discussions.

Both organizations are pleased to collaborate on this initiative because they believe it represents a unique opportunity for students to gain a better appreciation of the dynamics of the parliamentary system at a crucial time in its evolution. We hope that professors and students will find this program featuring experienced, professional parliamentary staff to be highly beneficial.

Role of clerks

Members of legislative bodies are supported in their parliamentary functions by “Clerks-at-the-Table.” Clerks provide non-partisan procedural advice to the Speaker and all members of their legislature. Clerks also have extensive duties related to the overall administrative management of their respective legislative bodies. These individuals have first-hand knowledge and a unique perspective about many aspects of Canadian parliamentary democracy.

Why invite a clerk?

Both professors and students have expressed the value of having a seasoned, expert practitioner in parliamentary procedure to discuss the nature, role and function of legislative assemblies and our system of parliamentary democracy. The unique program provides students with an opportunity to engage with a senior parliamentary official and gain a better understanding of the workings of modern democratic institutions.

How does the speaking tour work?

This activity is a joint venture with the university or college concerned. Subject to operational and budgetary considerations, the two sponsoring organizations (the Canadian Association of Clerks-at-the-Table and the Canadian Study of Parliament Group) provide a speaker, either a federal, provincial or territorial clerk, and the university or college is responsible for organizing the event. The clerk’s travel and related costs are generally covered by the Canadian Study of Parliament Group with support from the legislature, if necessary.

The presentations can be offered in various formats, such as a special presentation to a group of students, a lecture during regular class time, or a seminar to graduate students (or undergraduate students with relevant majors). The most common approach is to use scheduled class time and invite additional guests, as desired.

What topics can be addressed?

Topics will generally relate to the Canadian system of governance, parliamentary democracy, and parliamentary procedure. Some of the matters covered may be:

  • The history and development of our parliamentary system;
  • The work of a legislature and its members;
  • Introduction to parliamentary procedure and its rules;
  • The roles of the government and of the opposition;
  • The role of clerks and career opportunities at a legislature;
  • Rulings by the Chair/Speaker and parliamentary precedent.

How to participate in the program

Professors may indicate their interest in this program by providing relevant details using our request form pdf (105 kB, 1 page).

Requests will be considered on a first come, first served basis. As a best practice, requests for presentations in the fall (September to December) should be submitted no later than September 15, and requests for presentations in the winter (January to April) should be submitted no later than January 15. Requests received outside of these timelines will be accommodated whenever possible.

Need more information?

Contact the CSPG for more details.

© 2015 Canadian Study of Parliament Group

Événements actuels

Conférences antérieures

Colloques antérieures

Tournée de conférences

Tournées de conférences dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

C’est en 1988 que l’Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada et le Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements (GCÉP) se sont unis pour la première fois afin d’engager les greffiers des institutions législatives fédérales, provinciales et territoriales pour aller à la rencontre des étudiants dans les universités et les collèges canadiens afin de leur parler du rôle du pouvoir législatif dans un gouvernement de type Westminster. Depuis, plusieurs engagements à travers le pays ont menés à des discussions intéressantes et productives.

Les deux organismes sont heureux de collaborer à cette initiative car ils estiment qu’elle représente pour les étudiants une occasion unique de mieux comprendre la dynamique du système parlementaire à un moment crucial de son évolution. Nous espérons que les professeurs et les étudiants trouveront très instructif ce programme présenté par du personnel parlementaire professionnel et expérimenté.

Rôle des greffiers

Les membres d’institutions législatives sont appuyés dans leurs fonctions par des « greffiers au bureau ». Ceux-ci offrent des conseils non partisans en matière de procédure au Président de l’assemblée législative et à tous les parlementaires. Les greffiers exercent également d’importantes fonctions liées à la gestion administrative de l’assemblée législative pour laquelle ils travaillent. Ils ont une connaissance directe et un point de vue unique sur les nombreux aspects de la démocratie parlementaire canadienne.

Pourquoi inviter un greffier?

Autant les professeurs que les étudiants ont parlé de l’importance d’avoir accès à des spécialistes aguerris de la procédure parlementaire pour leur parler de la nature, du rôle et de la fonction du Parlement ainsi que de notre système de démocratie parlementaire. Ce programme unique offre aux étudiants l’occasion de discuter avec un haut fonctionnaire du Parlement et de mieux appréhender les rouages des institutions démocratiques modernes.

En quoi consistent les tournées de conférences?

Cette activité est une initiative menée conjointement avec les universités ou les collèges concernés. Sous réserve de considérations opérationnelles et budgétaires, les deux organismes parrains (l’Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada et le Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements) trouvent un conférencier (un greffier fédéral, provincial ou territorial), et l’université ou le collège se charge de l’organisation de l’événement. Les frais de déplacement des greffiers et autres dépenses connexes sont généralement assumés par le Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements, avec le soutien des associations législatives, au besoin.

Les présentations sont offertes dans divers formats, notamment sous la forme d’exposés spéciaux devant des groupes d’étudiants, de conférences pendant les heures normales de cours ou de séminaires pour les étudiants de cycles supérieurs (ou de premier cycle, selon la pertinence de leur domaine d’études). L’approche la plus courante consiste à utiliser les heures de classe régulières et à faire venir des invités supplémentaires lorsque souhaité.

Quels sujets peut-on y aborder?

Les sujets portent généralement sur le système canadien de gouvernance, la démocratie parlementaire et la procédure parlementaire. Voici quelques-unes des questions pouvant être couvertes :

  • l’histoire et l’évolution de notre système parlementaire,
  • le travail d’un organe législatif et de ses membres,
  • une introduction à la procédure parlementaire et au Règlement,
  • les rôles du gouvernement et de l’opposition,
  • le rôle des greffiers et les perspectives de carrière dans un organe législatif,
  • les décisions de la Présidence et les précédents parlementaires.

Comment participer au programme?

Les enseignants que ce programme intéresse peuvent remplir le formulaire d’inscription pdf (106 ko, 1 page) en y indiquant toutes les informations pertinentes.

Les demandes seront traitées dans leur ordre d’arrivée. Il est recommandé de soumettre les demandes pour des présentations à l’automne (de septembre à décembre) au plus tard le 15 septembre, et celles pour des présentations en hiver (de janvier à avril) au plus tard le 15 janvier. On s’efforcera autant que possible de satisfaire aux demandes présentées au-delà de ces dates limites.

Besoin d’informations supplémentaires?

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le GCEP.

© 2015 Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements