Charles B. Koester Student Essay Competition

James R. Mallory Research Grant

Manon Tremblay Doctoral Fellowship


Manon Tremblay Doctoral Fellowship

Information  pdf (139 ko, 1 page)

The Doctoral Fellowship aims at supporting doctoral students in dissertation work focusing upon the study, understanding and discussion of the parliamentary process and institutions in Canada.

The $8,000 Doctoral Fellowship is awarded annually. Applicants must be doctoral students who are in the process of dissertation work. Applicants from all fields of study are welcome, but the subject matter of the dissertation work must focus upon the parliamentary process or institutions.

In 2023, the Canadian Study of Parliament Group named its Doctoral Fellowship in honour of Professor Manon Tremblay in recognition of her brilliant academic career and significant contributions to research on Canadian parliamentarism.

Biography of Manon Tremblay

Manon Tremblay is a full professor at the University of Ottawa’s School of Political Studies. She started her teaching career with the University of Ottawa in 1992 after completing a bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and PhD in political science at Laval University.

As a prolific author and experienced researcher with a dozen books and about 50 book chapters and scientific articles to her name in both English and French, Professor Tremblay is rightly regarded, both in Canada and abroad, as one of the foremost experts in her field. Professor Tremblay helped shape the minds of generations of political science students through the book she co-edited with Professor Réjean Pelletier, Le parlementarisme canadien, which has gone back to press multiple times.

Throughout her career, she has studied the engagement and representation of various population groups in politics, beginning with women and members of the 2SLGBTQI+ community.

Many organizations have called on her expertise because of her work on women and politics, including a study she authored on the impact of the electoral system on women’s prospects of being elected to the House of Commons of Canada. She has testified before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs as an expert witness on the issue of women’s representation in the House of Commons and electoral reform. She provided expert advice to the Chief Electoral Officer of Quebec and the Select Committee on the Election Act (SCEA) on a reform of Quebec’s voting system, including the characteristics of a mixed compensatory voting system.

Her focus extended to the presence and role of members of the 2SLGBTQI+ community within legislatures, both at the provincial and at the national level. In 2011, she co-edited a collection of articles in an international collection called The Lesbian and Gay Movement and the State: Comparative Insights into a Transformed Relationship. The various articles, which provide evidence of the evolution of the lesbian and gay movement and their role in politics, cover 15 different countries. Each article aims to determine to what extent the lesbian and gay movements were influenced by the state and, to a lesser extent, whether the lesbian and gay movements influenced and transformed the state, for instance by altering forms of sexual regulation. This book filled an important gap in the literature on lesbian and gay activism as well as the role of the state in constructing citizen identity.

In 2022, Professor Tremblay published a book entitled LGBQ Legislators in Canadian Politics: Out to Represent. This book is the first study on the representational role of parliamentarians who identify with the lesbian, gay, bisexual and queer communities in Canada, and assesses the responsiveness of the Canadian parliamentary system to demands made by the 2SLGBTQI+ movement in Canada.

Canada was not the only country to benefit from Professor Tremblay’s knowledge and dedication to the role of women in politics. Over the years, she has contributed to numerous research projects as a guest lecturer at numerous universities in the United Kingdom, Australia, France, Hungary and New Zealand.

The Canadian Study of Parliament Group is proud to rename its Doctoral Fellowship in honour of Professor Tremblay in recognition of her distinguished career and outstanding contributions to academic research.


2023 – Christopher Greenaway
2022 – Meagan Clouthier
2021 – Elizabeth McCallion
2020 – Florence Vallée-Dubois, Philip Charbonneau
2019 – Rob Currie-Wood
2018 – Vincent Hopkins
2017 – Louise Cockram

© 2015 Canadian Study of Parliament Group